A Gift From Canada

I finally have the Super 8 files in my eager hands (and copied to three different drives). I am only mildly worried about mixing the negative and reversal film. They do look different, but I only have to remind myself that is sort of the point. The film is a little scratched in places, its shaky, its imperfect, its beautiful. The idea of using an imperfect format to shoot these amazing women who have spent their lives training their bodies to obtain perfection appears to be working. Not that it wouldn’t have been beautiful to also shoot them with 16 mm (more reliable) and use a tripod, but would it have felt so personal? By imitating old home movies I am hoping to remove the so-called elite-ness of ballet. Hopefully it’s working. Now, to find the perfect musical accompaniment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.